Franz Ferdinand Announce Greatest Hits Album, Shares New Song “Billy Goodbye”


Franz Ferdinand has announced a new 20-song greatest hits album compilation called Hits to the Head, due March 11 via Domino. Although this album will contain mainly the greatest hits from the band, it will include two new songs: “Billy Goodbye” and “Curious.” Franz Ferdinand recently parted ways with their longtime drummer Paul Thomson. Their last studio album came in 2018 with Always Ascending. You can see the video for “Billy Goodbye” and the tracklist for the album below.

“It’s the same as writing a set-list for a festival: You want to play the songs you know people want to hear,” lead singer Alex Kapranos said. “The hits. Bring the hits to the head. The heart. The feet. That means obvious singles, but also songs you know have a special meaning for both band and audience like “Outsiders.” We also added two new songs, recorded last year: “Billy Goodbye” and “Curious,” both co-produced at the last stage with Stuart Price. I have friends who believe you’re somehow not a “real” fan if you own a best of rather than a discography. I disagree. I think of my parents’ record collection as a kid. I loved their compilation LPs. I am so grateful that they had Changes or Rolled Gold. Those LPs were my entrance point. My introduction.”

Hits to the Head Tracklist:

01 Darts of Pleasure
02 Take Me Out
03 The Dark of the Matinée
04 Michael
05 This Fire
06 Do You Want To
07 Walk Away
08 The Fallen
09 Outsiders
10 Lucid Dreams
11 Ulysses
12 No You Girls
13 Right Action
14 Evil Eye
15 Love Illumination
16 Stand on the Horizon
17 Always Ascending
18 Glimpse of Love
19 Curious
20 Billy Goodbye

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close