Aimee Mann Announces New Album, Shares Lead Single


Aimee Mann. Photo Courtesy of Art Siegel via Flickr.

Aimee Mann has announced her 10th studio album, Queens of the Summer Hotel, due Nov. 5 via  Mann’s own label SuperEgo. The album was written in conjunction with Mann’s music for the upcoming musical Girl, Interrupted. This album follows the singer-songwriter’s 2017 studio album Mental Illness. Along with the announcement, Mann has shared the first single from the album, titled “Suicide is Murder,” with a music video starring James Urbaniak. You can see the music video and tracklist below.

“I think the phrase ‘suicide is murder’ took on a meaning for me as it’s the worst thing to have to deal with in the aftermath. It’s just terrible,” Mann said in a statement. “Because every person who knows the person who committed suicide will blame themselves in some way for not noticing or stepping in or doing something. They’ll till the end of their days, say, ‘was there something I could have done?’ I honestly felt almost possessed when I was writing this record as I’ve never written so fast and intensely. I found the material very interesting and obviously really personal. I had specific ideas about what I thought the character’s backstory could be and incorporated a lot of shared experiences to flesh out specific characters discussed in the memoir.”

Queens of the Summer Hotel:

01 You Fall
02 Robert Lowell and Sylvia Plath
03 Give Me Fifteen
04 At the Frick Museum
05 Home by Now
06 Checks
07 Little Chameleon
08 You Don’t Have the Room
09 Suicide Is Murder
10 You Could Have Been a Roosevelt
11 Burn It Out
12 In Mexico
13 Check (Reprise)
14 You’re Lost
15 I See You

If you are experiencing suicidal thoughts or know someone who is, we recommend these resources:

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
1-800-273-TALK (8255)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close