New Indie and Alternative Album Releases – March 12, 2021


Records in a record store. Photo Courtesy of Markus Spiske via Pexels.
Records in a record store. Photo Courtesy of Markus Spiske via Pexels.

On Fridays, the world is blessed with new music from a handful of artists. To help you find your next favorite album, we’ve found what new alternative and indie albums have been released. Some notable artists this week include Grouplove, The Horrors, and The Paper Kites. Check out the full list below:

Grouplove – This is This

Grouplove is back with a surprise album that was only announced yesterday. The beloved alternative rock band gave us ‘Tongue Tied’ returns with their fifth studio album, This is This, via Canvasback/Atlantic.

“The album title, to me, represents that if you strip away everything and you throw us in a room,” says bassist Daniel Gleason. “This is what the band sounds like.”

Hanalei – Black Snow

Indie rock band Hanalei, consisting of Brian Moss and Pete Croke, has released their first studio album in over a decade, Black Snow via A-F Records. This band consists of members from other bands, including The Velvet Teen, Daikon, Great Apes, and More.

“I began writing Black Snow roughly two years ago after finding out my wife was pregnant,” said Moss. “The process served as a means of coping with the relentless anxiety and bouts of depression that polluted my expected joy. How could I bring a child into a world on the verge of collapse? The record is a non-linear, fictional collage, set in the not-so-distant future, following the destruction of our climate and the subsequent disintegration of modern society.”

The Horrors – Lout

English rock band The Horrors return with Lout, a three-track EP that is the band’s first new material in four years. The EP is available now on Spotify and Apple Music and at The Horrors’ website.

“There’s something about it which feels like a return to a heavier sound but really it’s a million miles away from anything we’ve done,” said keyboardist Tom Furse in a statement. “Keeping the sound aggressive and the beats heavy was a central tenet, everything seemed to fall around that.”

James Levy – Soldier

Nashville-based singer-songwriter James Levy has announced a new LP, Soldier, featuring three previously released singles. The LP was inspired by the TV show ‘Normal People,’ according to American Songwriter.

“I was watching the show ‘Normal People’ and out of the blue the song came to mind… I wrote it very quickly and recorded it. It ended up being the catalyst to make a full record,” Levy said. “I sang whatever came to mind knowing that I wouldn’t edit it…It felt like no matter what I said the feeling would come through.”

Matt Berninger – Serpentine Prison (Deluxe Edition)

Matt Berninger, better known as the frontman of The National, released his debut album, Serpentine Prison, last year in October. However, Berninger has released a deluxe version of the album, featuring six new songs. On top of that, Berninger released a music video for his most recent single, “Let It Be,” directed by Hopper Mills.

“I wanted a video that captures the creative fearlessness we have when we’re young before self-judgment and doubt kick in,” said Berninger. “Hopper and I have been working together for a while on another project and I knew they were the only one for the job.”

The Paper Kites – Roses

The Paper Kites, an indie rock-folk band from Melbourne, Australia, has released their fifth studio album, Roses, via Wonderlick Entertainment/ Sony. This album features a handful of special guests, including Julia Stone (Angus & Julia Stone), Lucy Rose, Rosie Carney, Aoife O’Donovan, Nadia Reid, Amanda Bergman, Lydia Cole, Gena Rose Bruce, and more.

“If you were to walk along a busy street, and something caught your eye – something small that had no business being there-but you picked it up and put it in your pocket, you couldn’t say why-but for some reason, you kept it with you – to me, that’s our music,” says frontman Sam Bentley.

Sorry – A Night at the Windmill

Finally, London-based indie rock band Sorry is releasing a live album, A Night At The Windmill, benefiting the independent London venue Windmill Brixton. This album is a recording of the band’s live performance at Windmill Brixton, which was on Oct. 7 and socially distanced. The live album will be released via Domino Records and will only produce 500 copies. All proceeds from the album will be donated to the venue.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close