Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner Team Up Again for New Big Red Machine Album; Share Single


Big Red Machine at Primavera Sound 2019. Photo Courtesy of Raph_PH via Flickr.

Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and The National’s Aaron Dessner have announced Big Red Machine’s sophomore album, titled How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last?, due Aug. 27 via Jagjaguwar/37d03d. The highly-anticipated album, which follows their 2018 self-titled album, features many special guests, including Taylor Swift, Sharon Van Etten, Ben Howard, Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold, and many more. Taylor Swift worked with both Dessner and Vernon on her last two studio albums. On top of that, the duo has shared the first single from the album, titled “Latter Days.” You can listen to the new single and see the tracklist below.

“It was clear to Anaïs that the early sketch Justin and I made of ‘Latter Days’ was about childhood, or loss of innocence and nostalgia for a time before you’ve grown into adulthood—before you’ve hurt people or lost people and made mistakes,” Dessner said in a statement. “She defined the whole record when she sang that, as these same themes kept appearing again and again.”

How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last?:

01 Latter Days [ft. Anaïs Mitchell]
02 Reese
03 Phoenix [ft. Fleet Foxes and Anaïs Mitchell]
04 Birch [ft. Taylor Swift]
05 Renegade [ft. Taylor Swift]
06 The Ghost of Cincinnati
07 Hoping Then
08 Mimi [ft. Ilsey]
09 Easy to Sabotage [ft. Naeem]
10 Hutch [ft. Sharon Van Etten, Lisa Hannigan and My Brightest Diamond]
11 8:22am [ft. La Force]
12 Magnolia
13 June’s a River [ft. Ben Howard and This Is The Kit]
14 Brycie
15 New Auburn [ft. Anaïs Mitchell]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close