José González Announces New Album, Local Valley, First in Six Years


Jose Gonzalez performing on stage. Photo Courtesy of Drew McLellan via Flickr.

José González, the Swedish singer-songwriter that brought us “Heartbeats,” is back with the announcement of a new album, Local Valley, via Mute. The album is due September 17 and is his first album in six years since his 2015 Vestiges & Claws. Along with this announcement comes the album’s second single, “Visions,” along with a visual music video, which you can watch below. This follows the first single from the album “El Invento,” which was released earlier this year.

“We are the apes that are starting to understand the universe and our place in it,” González said of the song in a statement. “We are changing our surroundings in an exceedingly rapid pace, so much that we’re becoming stewards of our planet whether we like it or not. As Stewart Brand said, ‘We are as gods and we have to get good at it.’ The lyrics came to me in early February 2020 just as there were more and more tweets about the possible pandemic. The topic of the song felt very timely. You can hear the birds and ambient sounds from the veranda, along with a layer of synth loops in the background.”

Local Valley:

01 – El Invento
02 – Visions
03 – The Void
04 – Horizons
05 – Head On
06 – Valle Local
07 – Lasso ln
08 – Lilla G
09 – Swing
10 – Tjomme
11 – Line of Fire
12 – En Stund Pa Jorden
13 – Honey Honey

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close