Sharon Van Etten Announces Cover Album Honoring 2010 LP

By: Joey Reams
Sharon Van Etten
(Sharon Van Etten. Photo Courtesy of Norwich Event Time via Facebook)

Sharon Van Etten has announced epic Ten to celebrate her 2010 LP epic. This double album will include the original record and a cover album. The latter will feature a handful of covers from artists such as Courtney Barnett, Fiona Apple, and IDLES. On top of all that, Etten released a cover of “A Crime” by Big Red Machine, consisting of Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner. The album is expected to be released on June 11 via Ba Da Bing. Until then, Etten plans to release a new cover every Thursday leading up to the release.

“Sharon is one of my favorite songwriters, and I’ve been very lucky to get to collaborate with her many times over the years,” Dessner said in a press release. “Recording ‘A Crime’ with Justin, more than 10 years after we covered ‘Love More’ at MusicNOW with my brother Bryce—and thinking about all our shared memories—it felt like coming full circle. It’s an honor to be able to pay tribute to Sharon and her incredible songs. We felt like the door should be about to fall off the hinges of this version, and I think it sounds like that.”

You can listen to the song below.

If that wasn’t enough, Etten also announced epic Ten: the documentary and concert, streaming on April 16 and 17.  The documentary will benefit the Los Angeles venue Zebulon and feature Etten performing epic in its entirety.

Here are the other songs that will be covered on this album:

1. “A Crime” – Big Red Machine

2. “Peace Signs” – IDLES

3. “Save Yourself” – Lucinda Williams

4. “DsharpG” – Shamir

5. “Don’t Do It” – Courtney Barnett (feat. Vagabon)

6. “One Day” – St. Panther

7. “Love More” – Fiona Apple

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close